2022 Elections

TSE has already replaced 1420 ballot boxes, which represents 0.27% of the devices' total number

The number of exchanges is within the normal range

Translated by: Flávia Chacon

Brasil de Fato | São Paulo (SP) |
TSE president Alexandre de Moraes reiterated the "tranquility and security" of the elections so far - Alejandro Zambrana/Secom/TSE

The Superior Electoral Court (TSE) registered, by 11:40am this Sunday (2), 1,420 replaced ballot boxes, which represents 0.27% of the total number of machines. 

By 10:48 a.m., 106 cases of vote-buying, 19 occurrences of illegal campaign, three violations of voting secrecy, and seven occurrences of illegal transportation of voters had been registered, according to the Ministry of Justice and Public Safety.

The numbers do not represent significant occurrences and are within expectations and in accordance with the numbers counted in previous elections.

The president of the Superior Electoral Court (TSE), minister Alexandre de Moraes, reiterated to the press the "tranquility and security" of the elections so far.  

"The voters are already going both in Brazil and abroad (...) everything is happening with absolute tranquility and we are sure that at the end of the day we will already have the results. I ask the voters to attend, vote, and go home, have lunch, and enjoy Sunday" he said. 

Voting abroad

Before 12 pm this Sunday (2), 59 countries had already closed the vote for president of the Republic, according to the TSE. The electoral results, however, can be checked through the Ballot Report (Boletim de Urna, in Portuguese). The official results will only be released after voting ends in Brazil, at 5pm (Brasília time). 

In total, 697,000 voters are eligible to vote abroad in these elections, which represents an increase of 39.21% compared to 2018. Because they are outside Brazilian territory, they can only vote for president of the Republic.

Voting is now closed: South Africa, Germany, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, Qatar, China, Hong Kong, Cyprus, South Korea, Denmark, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, the Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, the Philippines, South Africa, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Norway, New Zealand, Oman, Palestine, Poland, Kenya, Czech Republic, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Taiwan, Tanzania, East Timor, Turkey, Vietnam, and Zambia.

Edited by: Rodrigo Durão Coelho